PM for formation of two new divisions as Padma, Meghna

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said that there will be two divisions in the country named Padma and Meghna. She said Faridpur division will be named after Padma. And Comilla division will be named Meghna. Cumilla will not be named. Because, the name of Mushtaq is associated with the name of Cumilla.

 She said: “I have decided to form two new divisions after two rivers, one would be named after Padma and another after Meghna.”

The Prime Minister revealed it while opening the newly-constructed office building for Awami League’s Comilla City unit virtually from her official residence Ganobhaban.

At that time, AKM Bahauddin Bahar, Member of Parliament for Cumilla Sadar constituency and President of Mahanagar Awami League, demanded a division in the name of Cumilla. But the Prime Minister opposed it. Said, I will not give the name ‘Ku’. The name of Mushtaq is associated with the name of Cumilla.

The head of government said that the name of Mushtaq comes to mind whenever the name of Cumilla is mentioned. So the name of Cumilla will not come.

She said if the division is formed after the name of Cumilla other districts might not be interested to join it.

The PM said she will form Faridpur Division after the name of Padma, another famous river of the country.

LGRD Minister Tazul Islam, AL organizing secretary Abu Sayeed Al Mahmood Swapon and local Awami League MP AKM Bahauddin and other local AL leaders joined the virtual the function from the new office building.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button