BCB announces new central contracts, Mithun Dropped

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Wednesday announced the names of 24 players who will receive central contracts. After the 11th meeting of the current board on Wednesday, the latest central contract list was announced.

BCB introduced a new format-wise contract system as they opted for contract in Test, ODI’s and T20’s while earlier they had white-ball and red ball contract.

Of 24 players, five are contracted for all forms of cricket, while three are for only Tests and ODIs, six for only Tests, four for ODIs and T20Is, and six for only T20Is.

There were 16 players in last year’s central contract. Mohammad Mithun and Nayeem Hasan have been excluded from the new list.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib al Hasan returns to national contract, He was excluded from the previous contract due to his ban.

Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed and Shamim Hossain have found a place each in the central contract for the first time. While Shoriful is contracted for all formats, others are only for T20Is.

24 players of Bangladesh’s new central contract for the period of May-December 2021:

All formats (5): Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

Tests and ODIs (3): Tamim Iqbal, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam

Only Tests (6): Mominul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Abu Jayed Rahi, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Ebadot Hossain; ODIs and T20Is (4): Mahmudullah Riyad, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Afif Hossain;

Only T20Is (6): Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button