Voting underway for by-polls to Sylhet-3

The voting for by-polls to Sylhet-3, which was deferred twice earlier due to rise of corona infections in the country, is underway.

Starting at 8:00am, the EVM voting will go on till 4:00pm today (Saturday).

According to a media report, the polling started at 8:00 am but the turnout at the polling stations was not high since morning.

So far, there has been no report of any violence.

The four candidates who are contesting the election are Awami League’s Habibur Rahman Habib, Jatiya Party’s Atiqur Rahman Atiq, former BNP MP Shafi Ahmad Chowdhury and Bangladesh Congress’ Junaid Mohammad Mia.

The number of voters in Sylhet-3 constituency is 3 lakh 49 thousand 873. Voters will exercise their franchise in 149 centers today. The Election Commission has taken all measures in order to ensure peaceful voting.

Mentionable, the seat (Sylhet-3) became vacant after Mahmud-Us-Samad Chowdhury, the former MP of the constituency, died from Covid-19.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button