BJS-EMK Fellowship Program organized for better journalism concluded

Building Assets Journalism School (BJS), a non-profit educational institution of Bangladeshi Journalists in International Media (BJIM), has concluded its ‍‍`Necessary Workshops for a Better Press‍‍` programme. This fellowship program started on June 5 with 40 journalists working in different media of the country under the auspices of Edward M. Kennedy (EMK) Center in Dhaka.

In a ceremony organized at EMK Center in Dhanmondi on Saturday evening, 40 journalists were given the recognition for completing the fellowship. Rafiqur Rahman, a senior journalist and a long-time employee of Reuters, handed over the crest and certificate to the participating journalists.

Nayem Ali from The Business Standard secured the first position in this fellowship program, Md. Asaduzzaman from The Daily Star became second and Minhajul Abedin Riaz Chowdhury from Prothom Alo got the third position.

This year‍‍`s fellowship program offered training in seven subjects. These are: mobile phone journalism, storytelling and gathering and preserving news sources, news ethics and investigative journalism, long-form journalism, some general rules for spotting fake news and misinformation, versatile journalism and journalism training in hostile environments.

Journalists participating in the fellowship have received in-depth learning about these subjects. Organizers hope that an environment of responsible journalism will be created through such a program.

Sam Jahan, the convenor of BJIM, said that the successful fellowship program marked the beginning of many beneficial events for the media. We need to continue the true essence of journalism and programs like this will enhance that understanding. BJS Principal Redwan Ahmed was also present at the certificate awarding ceremony.

The trainers of the workshop were: AFP Bureau Chief Shafiqul Alam, Prothom Alo Special Correspondent Rozina Islam, Al-Jazeera Correspondent Faisal Mahmud, AFP FactCheck Editor Kadaruddin Shishir, DW Academy Trainer Maqsuda Aziz, the only Bangladeshi Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Mohammad Panir Hossain and international award winning journalist Sam Jahan.

Journalists receiving fellowship are:  Abdullah Al Zobair, Md. Minhajul Abedin Riaz Chowdhury, Kazi Mustafiz, Jhumur Saha, Nasimul Ahmed Shubo, Symun Mubin Pallab, Moniruzzaman Monir, Md. Sabuj Mahmud, Marzia Hashmi Mumu, Md. Hedayet Ullah, Md. Arshad Ali, Md. Sajjad Hossain, Md. Zahidul Islam, Rafia Khanam Chowdhury, Golam Rabbani, Md. Miraj Hossain, Md. Sahabir Mia, Sheikh Shahrukh Farhan, Fariza Sabreen, MM Hashmi Sarkar, Fauzia Sultana, Nayem Ali, Md. Tanzil Ahmed, Md. Osman Gani, Md. Tajnoor Islam, Taslimul Alam Tauhid, Shoaib Abdullah, Sharifa Sultana, Mahfuzur Rahman Manik, Stefan Rosario Uttam, Farhana Haque, Noor Mohammad, Amit Banik, Nazmus Saqib, Md. Asaduzzaman, Md. Mariful Hasan, Iffat Jahan, Kerry Ashirbad Biswas, Yasir Arafat and Hasan Al Manzoor.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button