BFUJ President Omar Farooq, Secretary General Deep Azad

Omar Farooq was elected as the president of the Bangladesh Federal Union of Journalists (BFUJ) on Saturday.
Besides, Dip Azad elected as Secretary General and Madhu Sudon Mandal as the vice president of BFUJ.

In the election of BFUJ, 34 candidates contested for the posts of President, Vice-President, Secretary General, Joint Secretary General, Treasurer, Office Secretary and four executive members.

Voting took place on Saturday (October 23) from 9 am to 5 pm at the National Press Club premises. Later, the results were announced around 8:30 pm.
According to the results of Dhaka Center, Omar Farooq got 674 votes for the post of president and Dip Azad got 926 votes. Vice President Madhu Sudan Mandal got 394 votes.

 BFUJ President Omar Farooq, Secretary General Deep Azad

Sheikh Mamunur Rashid elected  for the post of Joint Secretary General .

Khairuzzaman Kamal got 575 votes for the post of treasurer. Sebika Rani got 606 votes for the post of Office Secretary. M Shahjahan is closest to him, got 247 votes.

Voting took place in the BFUJ elections from 9:00 to 17:00 on Saturday. The fruit is announced at night.

Ajmal Haque Helal was elected Vice President, Nasima Akhter Joint General Secretary and Sebika Rani Secretary of the Office. Four members of the Board of Directors were elected. They are Ummul Wara Sweety, Utpal Kumar Sarkar, Noor Jannat Akhtar and Sheikh Nazmul Haque Saikat. In addition to this, outside of Dhaka, votes were cast for several posts including vice president and joint general secretary at the divisional level.

Simultaneous polling was held in Dhaka, Chittagong, Cox’s Bazar, Mymensingh, Bogra, Rajshahi, Khulna, Jessore, Kushtia and Narayanganj from 9 am to 5 pm. Shahjahan Sardar, editor of Bangladesh Journal, was the chairman of the six-member election management committee formed for this year’s election.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button