BNP drafted 42-citizen statement

Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud said BNP drafted the statement of 42 persons over the Election Commission (EC).

“We saw yesterday that 42 personalities of the country gave a statement about the Election Commission. I would like to say them with utmost respect that all those persons are known as pro-BNP. Some of them are advisors to the BNP chairperson,” he said on Sunday while addressing a discussion meeting at an auditorium of Jatiya Press Club (JPC) in the capital.

Progotishil National Awami Party-Progotishil NAP (Bhashani) organized the meeting marking the 140th birth anniversary of Maulana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani.

At the beginning of his speech, Hasan paid rich tribute to Maulana Bhashani and said he (Bhashani) never did politics for power. He did politics for the welfare of the people and the country as well, he added.

About the BNP’s comments, he said they are talking against the government regularly. “But, the exception is that 42 people got together yesterday. Actually, the draft of the statement was made at BNP office. Therefore, they have echoed the BNP,” said Hasan, also Awami League joint general secretary.

He said if there is any question about the Election Commission, it can be discussed. But the language in which they made the statement and tried to divert people’s attention did not seem intelligible to the intellectuals and they have given the statement drafted by BNP, he added.

The minister said the country is moving ahead and “we are living in a multi-dimensional society”. Here will be debate and criticism, he said adding, but the debate and criticism should be what will take the country forward.

Jatiya Party presidium member Shahidur Rahman Tepa, Barrister Shamim Haider Patwari and Gana Aazadi League senior joint secretary general Mohammad Sarwar Hossain, addressed the meeting as special guests with Pargatishil Nap (Bhashani) central convener Parash Bahashani in the chair.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button