PM distributes Swadhinata Padak in-person

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has handed over Swadhinata Padak (Independence Award) to nine individuals and one institution for 2021 in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the nation.

The program to distribute the highest civilian award was held at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganobhaban on Thursday.

AKM Bazlur Rahman, Shaheed Ahsanullah Master and Brig Gen (retd) Khurshid Uddin Ahmed and Akhtaruzzaman Chowdhury Babu were given the award posthumously in recognition of their contributions to Independence and the Liberation War.  Their family members received the award from the prime minister.

Dr Mrinmoy Guha Neogi received the highest state award for his contributions to science and technology, Mohadev Saha for literature; Ataur Rahman and Gazi Mazharul Anwar for culture, and Dr M Amjad Hossain for social work.

Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council received the award in the research and training category. Bangladesh has been recognizing individuals and institutions with the award every year since 1977.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button