Bangladesh cricket team left the country on Sunday for Asia Cup

The Bangladesh cricket team left the country on Sunday noon for Sri Lanka to participate in Asia Cup starting on August 30. Opening batter Litton Das was absent from the flight to Sri Lanka due to his illness. Litton will rejoin the team upon recovery, said the medical wing of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

They also assured that Litton has undergone tests that ruled out concerns of dengue or any other severe illness. Tanzim Hasan Sakib is also making the trip to Sri Lanka solo, as he was later included in the team lineup and his flight arrangements were secured subsequently. He was included after Ebadot Hossain was ruled out due to a leg injury.

Tigers are placed in Group B along with host Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. While, Pakistan, arch-rival India and Nepal will play in Group A. Bangladesh’s opening match in the Asia Cup is scheduled for August 31 against Sri Lanka. Tigers will get three days to prepare themselves before taking on Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup at the Pallekele International Stadium.

The Tigers will fly to Pakistan for the second match against Afghanistan on September 3. Shakib Al Hasan will lead the team in this edition of the Asia Cup, having been appointed captain after Tamim Iqbal recently stepped down due to fitness uncertainties.

Both Shakib and the head coach, Chandika Hathurusinghe, conveyed optimism about achieving positive results in the Asia Cup.

Meanwhile, before departing for Sri Lanka, the right-arm pacer Taskin Ahmed, shared his aspirations with the media, expressing his belief in Bangladesh’s triumph in the Asia Cup this year.

Team members are: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button