Cricket WC reverts to 14 teams

The men’s Cricket World Cup will once again become a 14-team tournament in 2027 and 2031.

The changes were announced as the ICC, cricket’s global governing body, unveiled its global schedule of events from 2024-2031, ICC said on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the Champions Trophy, a ‘mini’ World Cup last staged in 2017, when Pakistan won in England, is to be revived again in 2025 and 2029 as an event for the top-ranked eight one-day international teams.

Only 10 sides contested the 2019 World Cup, won by hosts England, compared to 14 four years earlier.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button